AMOU Executive Council 2024 Snapshot



2024 Financial and Governance Snapshot

Dear AMOU Members

The attached is your Executive Council's Snapshot of important Financial and Governance outcomes over 2023-2024.

Our Financial Statements were posted to the AMOU website (amou.com.au) on 26th November 2024.

The structure of the union changed during 2023-2024 and is reflected in the constitution of the Executive Council and how membership numbers are allocated.

We had a number of staff movements during the year not the least of which was the retirement of Executive Officer Mark Davis. Mark's contribution to the AMOU was suitability acknowledged at his official send off on 1 October 2024.

The final 2024 Report to Members which will recap on major AMOU activities in 2024 will be available prior to the December End of Month Meeting (17th December 2024)

Any queries or feedback please do not hesitate to email your local industrial representative or Sydney HQ at amou@amou.com.au.

Stay safe and healthy.

Matt Jepson

President

AMOU Executive Council 2023 – 2024 Financial and Governance Snapshot



2024 Membership (as at 26/11/24)

Members by industry	2024	2023	2022	2021	2020
Offshore Energy	231	279	330	332	343
Pilotage	254	240	228	210	181
Port Authorities	3	302			
Private Port Services	109	112			
Ferries & Tourism	210	201			
Port Services	309 (631)	(615)	613	642	665
Seagoing	340	333	342	310	308
Towage	361	368	328	331	313
Unemployed	19	24	37	53	71
Total	1836	1,859	1,878	1,878	1,881

2023-24 Financial Outcomes

Year	2023-24	2022-23
Surplus	\$507,921	\$77,527
Membership Income	\$2,409,250	\$2,353,008
Unrealised gain on revaluation of investments	\$309,924	\$265,018
Employee Costs	\$1,474,362	\$1,364,145
Legal Fees	\$72,074	\$536 787

Executive Council

For the Financial year 2023- 24 the following members served on the AMOU Executive Council:

Name	Period of Tenure	Position
National		
Ken Blackband	01/07/23 -24/09/23	President
	25/09/23 – 30/06/24	National Councillor
Matthew Jepson	25/09/23 – 30/06/24	President
	01/07/23 – 24/09/23	National Councillor
Brent Warhurst	01/07/23 – 30/06/24	Vice-President
Brent Middleton	01/07/23 – 30/06/24	National Councillor
John McDonald	25/09/23 – 30/06/24	National Councillor
Brent Hills	25/09/23 – 30/06/24	National Councillor
Western Area		·
Glenn Andersen	01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Secretary
John McDonald	01/07/23 – 24/09/23	President
Brad Cooper	01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Vice-President
Southern Area		

01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Secretary
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	President
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Secretary
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Vice-President
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Offshore Oil & Gas Delegate
25/09/23 – 28/04/24	Offshore Oil & Gas Delegate
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Pilot Delegate
25/09/23 – 30/06/24	Pilot Delegate
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Port Services Delegate
25/09/23 – 30/06/24	Port Authority Industry Delegate
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Seagoing Delegate
27/03/24 – 30/06/24	Seagoing Delegate
01/07/23 – 24/09/23	Towage Delegate
25/09/23 – 30/06/24	Ferries & Tourism Delegate
	01/07/23 - 24/09/23 01/07/23 - 24/09/23 01/07/23 - 24/09/23 25/09/23 - 28/04/24 01/07/23 - 24/09/23 25/09/23 - 30/06/24 01/07/23 - 24/09/23 25/09/23 - 30/06/24 01/07/23 - 24/09/23 27/03/24 - 30/06/24 01/07/23 - 24/09/23

Current Executive Council

Name	Election Date	Position
Matt Jepson	01/07/23	President
Brent Warhurst	01/07/23	Vice President
Brent Middleton	01/07/23	National Councillor
Ken Blackband	01/07/23	National Councillor
John McDonald	01/07/23	National Councillor
Brent Hills	01/07/23	National Councillor
Ben Miers	01/07/23	Pilotage Delegate
Darryl Dorron	01/07/23	Port Authority Delegate
lan Hughes	01/07/23	Ferries & Tourism Delegate
Mitchell Ellicott	27/03/24	Seagoing Delegate
Vacant	-	Private Port Services
Vacant	-	Towage Delegate
Vacant	-	Energy Sector Delegate

The process to fill vacant positions via Elections has commenced.

2024 Executive Council Meetings

Date	Location
27 th March	Ordinary Face-to-face & Teams videoconference
	Executive Council meeting, Sydney AMOU Office
15 th July	Ordinary Face-to-face & Teams videoconference,
	Executive Council meeting, Sydney AMOU Office
16 th July	Special E-mail Executive Council meeting. Coordinated
	from AMOU Sydney Office
1 st October	Ordinary Face-to-face & Teams videoconference,
	Executive Council meeting, Sydney AMOU Office
11 th November	Special E-mail Executive Council meeting. Coordinated
	from AMOU Sydney Office
18 th December	Scheduled and likely to be videoconference excepting
	the President

2024 AMOU Staff

Name	Designation	Start date	Finish date	Base
Mark Davis	Executive Officer	23/11/16	15/10/24	Sydney - NSW
Jarrod Moran	Executive Officer	02/05/14		Geelong - VIC
Chris Neiberding	Sen. Industrial Officer	28/11/11		Geelong - VIC
Liz Jenkins	Office Manager	03/04/18		Sydney - NSW
Tracey Ellis	Industrial Officer	05/03/19		Brisbane - QLD
Marty McEvilly	Industrial Officer	17/09/18	31/08/24	Sydney - NSW
Glenn Walsh	Industrial Officer	29/11/18		Fremantle - WA
Chris Claydon	Organiser	01/03/22		Brisbane - QLD
Daniel White	Industrial Officer	19/08/24		Sydney - NSW
Jengis Osman	Industrial Officer	26/08/24		Sydney - NSW
Amy Conwell	Industrial Officer	24/09/24		Fremantle - WA

Additionally during 2024 Ginny Rabeling and Donna Shepherdson worked for the AMOU out of the Fremantle office.